07881931439

©2019 by Old Mill 2, Askrigg. Proudly created by Dan Brown

What our guests had to say...

Very Happy New Year (5 Stars)

CarronK

Date of stay: December 2019

Arrived to a welcoming red door adorned with a Christmas wreath, opened the door to a glittering tree in the lounge. Warm, cosy, logs by the fire, fluffy towels folded on the bed. I have a feeling this will be a very Happy New Year in this beautiful cottage

Perfect (5 Stars)

Journey67444

 

Date of stay:

October 2019

Cottage beautiful, location ideal!!!! Perfect for a relaxing break in the Yorkshire Dales Thanks for a wonderful weekend Hope to see you again soon.

Very comfortable (5 Stars)

BrianH736

Date of stay: 

October 2019

Comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. A good place for a week away in the Yorkshire Dales. Plenty of walks from your doorstep and 3 pubs to choose from in Askrigg for your evening meal. A drive opens up further walks along with plenty of other sites and towns to explore. Highly recommended.

Perfect, pet-friendly cottage (5 Stars)

48Yorkie

Date of stay: 

June 2019

I can only reiterate what has been said before. The cottage is beautiful with everything and more that you need. Apart from the complimentary milk, cheese, eggs, biscuits and tea we found tomato sauce along with brown sauce in the fridge, salt and pepper, and many more little touches. The accommodation was spotlessly clean with every home comfort. Old Mill 2 is such a family-friendly cottage and dog-friendly too.

The location is amazing, a grocery store, three pubs serving meals and the Humble Pie serving bread, cakes, ready meals, sandwiches made to order and, my favourite, a choice of about 6 different quiches.

Askrigg has fantastic walks nearby and the Little White Bus runs through the village from Leyburn to Gayle and is very reliable. We found everyone so friendly in Askrigg, offering friendly advice and just wanting to stop and chat. Dogs appear to be welcome in most places, not always inside the cafes but there is always seating in most cafes outside. Who wants to sit inside on a nice day anyway!

I would recommend a trip to Muker on a nice day. There is a lovely walk along the meadows to a stream and on the way back a stop at the local pub or cafe.

I would not hesitate to recommend this cottage.

Cosy cottage on a perfect location (5 Stars)

Els H

Date of stay: 

May 2019

Me, my husband, sister-in-law and brother-in-law stayed a week in The Old Mill 2 in the lovely James Herriot village of Askrigg. We had a wonderful week in this cosy cottage with every comfort of home. I'd recommend it to anybody. We will come back. A perfect location to start one of the many walks in the area.

Excellent cottage and location (5 Stars)

Filber30

Date of stay: 

May 2019

We had an excellent week's stay at Old Mill 2, the cottage was spacious, well-equipped and very comfortable for ourselves and our dog to stay in. On arrival we were greeted by a great 'welcome pack' of milk, eggs, cheese and biscuits which all went down very well indeed!
The location in Askrigg is great, we parked up on arrival and walked everywhere from there all week, very relaxing and with numerous paths and tracks leading off in all directions from the doorstep we were never short of anywhere to wander to. Parking has been mentioned as being tight but we maneuvered an estate car into the space with little trouble so it was fine really.
Would definitely book again and recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay in a lovely location!

Mrs (5 Stars)

Cjmcgregor

Date of stay: 

April 2019

We have just returned from the beautiful Askrigg in the Dales staying in Old Mill 2 cottage. This cottage is so comfortable home from home and clean and spacious and so cosy. Open fires with wood supplied tea and coffee on arrival and local cheese and eggs it’s the little touches to this holiday home that count. We loved staying here we were warm and relaxed there is nothing I would add this has been so well thought out equipment and furnishing wise. The courtyard is beautiful to sip coffee in the mornings and take in the fresh air. My son had his own bathroom and space giving us all enough room to feel completely relaxed. We cannot wait to return I would say this is the nicest most comfortable well equipped cottage I have stayed in on holiday. Thank you. Claire and Craig

Superb home in Yorkshire Dales (5 Stars)

HastyBear

Date of stay: 

September 2018

What can we say that will impress upon others just how wonderful this cottage is! Just returned from a great week in Askrigg & our home for the week truly made our holiday. Didn’t want for anything in this cottage. We were 2 couples & Bobbie the pooch & the layout gave us all enough space, both as couples & all together. Comfortable, well equipped, great location. We visited all 3 pubs/hotels to eat & all were great in their own way. The Humble Pie shop is the star of the village!! Cakes, bread & homemade ‘ready’ meals were all delicious. The kitchen in the OM2 has everything you need to cook meals which we also did. We travelled across the Dales from Askrigg which serves as a fantastic central base. Lots of dog walks from the village with maps/guides in OM2. We loved it so much we hope to go back next year! Thank you Denise & Andy for making OM2 so comfy & the star of our holiday.

Perfect cottage (5 Stars)

Exploration48

Date of stay: 

June 2018

The cottage is excellent - everything you need is provided and it is spacious with comfy beds. Askrigg is a lovely little village with great cafes and pubs. We would certainly recommend the cottage and the area.

The best ever (5 Stars)

Jillm439

Date of stay: 

February 2018

Having stayed in some questionable holiday cottages in the past, we were not expecting too much from 2 Old Mill, but boy, were we surprised. The cottage is virtually in the heart of the village with three pubs, all which serve excellent food, within a few minutes walk but in a very quiet lane. There's also a really good, small shop (Sykes) and a pie shop (Humble Pie) who can provide meals to take away if you don't feel like cooking or going out.
The cottage is spacious, light, totally equipped with everything you could possibly want or need with fantastic modern bathrooms and kitchen and very good WiFi. It's all beautifully decorated and felt immediately like home. We met the owners who were very friendly and helpful.
It well deserves every bit of five stars, but be warned - parking is tight (we parked outside the church eventually, which is free (well, voluntary donations) and if you take small dogs, they can get either through or under the gate if they're determined.
Fantastic find and thoroughly recommended!